English Symphony Orchestra November 2017

English Symphony Orchestra November 2017
Kenneth Woods

Alexander Sitkovetsky

Violin Concerto

Piano Quartet in A, Op.26 (arranged for orchestra by Kenneth Woods) – World Premiere

One of the most talked about newer orchestras on the UK classical scene – first visiting Cheltenham in 2016 – are back again with the first of two concerts in this Series. Ground-breaking premieres like Joubert’s Jane Eyre (Classical Music Magazine’s Premiere of the Year 2016) have seen them achieve huge critical acclaim.

This concert sees the professional world premiere of Kenneth Woods’ new orchestration of Brahms’ A Major Piano Quartet, a work of symphonic scope and great lyrical beauty. Appropriately, for an ensemble that dubs itself ‘The Orchestra of Elgar Country’, ESO also offers Elgar’s extraordinary Violin Concerto, with one of today’s most talented and admired violinists, Alexander Sitkovetsky, a student of Elgar’s own protégé, the violinist and former ESO Principal Guest Conductor, Yehudi Menuhin.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Presented by conductor, Kenneth Woods.
Free entry using your ticket for the concert.

Book Tickets

Tuesday 21st November 2017 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Tuesday 21st Nov 2017

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2017-18 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Regency Café or Imperial Garden Bar too.

Find out more and view the location map

Call us Mon-Sat, 10am-5.30pm on 0844 576 2210