European Union Chamber Orchestra 2019

European Union Chamber Orchestra 2019
Hans-Peter Hofmann

Emma Johnson

Capriol Suite

Clarinet Concerto in A, K.622

Adagio for Strings

Symphony No.44 in E minor, Hob1/44, ‘Trauer’

Britain’s favourite clarinettist joins EUCO for a programme of the most popular, and finest, works in the orchestral repertoire. We open with a miniature masterpiece, ostensibly based on six 16th century French dances, but in fact crammed with Peter Warlock’s own melodic inventiveness, while the great Clarinet Concerto, from Mozart’s final year, has an autumnal quality and a yearning central Adagio.

The Adagio for which Samuel Barber is most famous (originally part of his Op.11 quartet) opens the second half of this night of favourites, which comes to a rousing close with one of Haydn’s most dramatic and exciting symphonies.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Featuring tonight’s soloist, Emma Johnson.
Free entry using your ticket for tonight’s concert.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee include din the price of the ticket.

Book Tickets

Tuesday 30th April 2019 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Tuesday 30th Apr 2019

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2018-19 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Regency Café or Imperial Garden Bar too.

Find out more and view the location map

From December 10 Call us Monday – Friday from 10am–5.30pm & Saturdays 9.30am–5.15pm on 0844 576 2210