Masterworks Concert 69

Masterworks Concert 69
Ferruccio Busoni -Violin Sonata in e, opus 36a
Olivier Messiaen -Quartet for the End of Time

Emma Lisney violin
Michael Whight clarinet
Joy Lisney violoncello
James Lisney piano

One of the great chamber works of the twentieth century, Messiaen’s Quatour pour la fin du temps (1941) was written and premiered while the composer was a prisoner of war in German captivity. Sympathetic guards provided composition materials and isolation for compositional work and the prisoners made donations to purchase instruments for the performance. It is an extraordinarily communicative work, inspired by text from the Book of Revelations.

Ferruccio Busoni’s Second Sonata is a lyrical and impressive work from his first maturity. An opening slow movement conveys wistful sadness, the subsequent presto is a breathless tarantella and the final movement presents variations on Bach’s chorale ‘ Wie wohl its mir’.

Book Tickets

Tuesday 12th November 2019 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Tuesday 12th Nov 2019

Venue: Pittville Pump Room
Prices: £15.00
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Masterworks presents the finest chamber music in performances by internationally recognised artists.

The Venue

Breathtaking, unique and radiating regency refinement, Pittville Pump Room is monument to the more than 100 years of fame Cheltenham enjoyed as a Spa town, and perhaps the most famous example of regency architecture in the area.

Find out more and view the location map

Call us Monday – Friday from 10am–5.30pm & Saturdays 9.30am–5.15pm on 0844 576 2210