Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra 2019

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra 2019
Marios Papadopoulos

Steven Osborne

Dumbarton Oaks

Piano Concerto No.2 in F, Op.102

Pavane pour une infante defunte

Symphony in C

Stalin’s death in 1953 brought freedom and rehabilitation for Shostakovich, and many of his previously ‘hidden’ works came out into the open. This concerto, from 1957, reflects this new spirit: written for his son Maxim to perform at his graduation from Moscow Conservatoire, it is one of his most passionate works, loved by audiences for its lyrical second movement.

The concert opens with the neo-classical concerto, Dumbarton Oaks, pre-dating the Shostakovich piece by 20 years, while the second half celebrates French music, from Ravel’s languorous Pavane to the verve of Bizet’s innovative (and only) symphony, written at age 17 while still a student in Paris.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Featuring Steven Osborne & Marios Papadopoulos.
Free entry using your ticket for tonight’s concert.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.

Book Tickets

Thursday 13th June 2019 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Thursday 13th Jun 2019

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2018-19 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Regency Café or Imperial Garden Bar too.

Find out more and view the location map

From December 10 Call us Monday – Friday from 10am–5.30pm & Saturdays 9.30am–5.15pm on 0844 576 2210