Royal Philharmonic Orchestra 2018

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra 2018
Jamie Phillips

Kenny Broberg

Holberg Suite

Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

Symphony No.4

The Holberg Suite (1884), a vivacious work for strings in five movements (Introduction and four dances), provides the perfect opener to our 2018-19 Series. An early essay in neoclassicism, it echoes music from 100 years earlier, but with Grieg’s added verve and Scandinavian melodic style.

Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody… is a journey of discovery, infusing rich harmonies, plainchant melodies and dynamic rhythms. It also includes the famous ‘18th Variation’, which has become a popular classic in its own right.

Our opening night comes to a rousing close with Tchaikovsky’s epic 4th Symphony, a wild and powerful journey from darkness to light.

There is no Pre-Concert Talk before tonight’s performance.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.

Book Tickets

Friday 21st September 2018 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Friday 21st Sep 2018

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2018-19 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Regency Café or Imperial Garden Bar too.

Find out more and view the location map

From January 2018 Call us Monday – Friday from 1pm - 6.00pm & Saturdays 9.30am - 5.15pm on 0844 576 2210