Royal Philharmonic Orchestra June 2017

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra June 2017
Martyn Brabbins

Jan Mracek

Ruslan and Ludmila Overture

Violin Concerto in D major, Op.61

Symphony No.5 in D minor

Glinka’s overture to his operatic masterpiece, Ruslan and Ludmila, is full of upbeat exuberance and warm lyricism, making it the perfect opener to this exciting final concert of the Series. Beethoven’s Violin Concerto, meanwhile, is a masterpiece of the genre, bridging the gap between Classical and Romantic concerto styles with elegance and wit, and culminating in a zesty finale that fully explores the instrument’s range.

The 16-17 Series concludes with Shostakovich’s imposing Fifth Symphony. Filled with wonderful melodies and stirring rhythms, it bursts with power and rebellious beauty. Writing under Stalin’s constricting Soviet regime, Shostakovich created a blend of satire and submission that intrigues audiences to this day.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Conductor, Martyn Brabbins, is interviewed in this introduction to tonight’s programme. Free entry using your ticket for tonight’s concert.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.

Book Tickets

Thursday 15th June 2017 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Thursday 15th Jun 2017

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

The 16-17 Series concludes with Shostakovich’s imposing Fifth Symphony.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Regency Café or Imperial Garden Bar too.

Find out more and view the location map

Call us Mon-Sat, 10am-5.30pm on 0844 576 2210