English Symphony Orchestra 2022

English Symphony Orchestra 2022
Kenneth Woods

Zoë Beyers

SchumannOverture from Manfred, Op.115
TchaikovskyViolin Concerto in D, Op.35
DvorakSymphony No.9 in E minor, Op.95 – ‘From The New World’

Could tonight’s highlight be the first half combination of the 19th century’s most underrated genius – a master of harmonic structure – and the dramatic overture to his tone poem based on Byron’s Manfred, from the final year of his short life, coupled with one of the best-loved of violin concertos, with its sombre Andante and resonantly Russian finale? Or is it one of the most popular symphonies in the entire canon, inspired – and so obviously and infectiously infused – by Dvorak’s travels and immersion in American culture, complete with its immortal second movement oboe theme and the power and pathos of the brass-led anthems of its outer movements? There’s only one way to decide…

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Free entry using your ticket for the concert.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the concert.

Book Tickets

Wednesday 16th March 2022 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Wednesday 16th Mar 2022

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2021-22 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Garden Bar Orangery.

Find out more and view the location map

The Box Office is now located at Leisure at Cheltenham's reception point