English Symphony Orchestra – Concert Series

English Symphony Orchestra – Concert Series
English Symphony Orchestra

Conductor Kenneth Woods
PianoNoriko Ogawa

Brahms Tragic Overture, Op.81
GriegPiano Concerto in A minor, Op.16
Sibelius Symphony No.5 in E flat, Op.82

Another much-loved favourite from the repertoire – Grieg’s only piano concerto, famous for its opening drumroll, poetic second movement and of course, Morecambe & Wise Andre Previn! – forms the centrepiece of tonight’s concert, with Japanese pianist Noriko Ogawa making her first Town Hall appearance.

The outer works are equally impressive, beginning with Brahms’ turbulent and tormented concert overture of 1888 and closing with a work that has often been voted the finest symphony of the 20th century – Sibelius’ Fifth. Only three movements long, but a masterpiece that signals how alive and well the Romantic language still was in 1915.

Event Info

Sunday 16th April 2023 - 2:30pm

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
To book see below:

Part of the 2022-23 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Garden Bar Orangery.

Find out more and view the location map

The Box Office is now located at Leisure at Cheltenham's reception point