Malta Symphony Orchestra – Concert Series 2022/23

Malta Symphony Orchestra – Concert Series 2022/23
Malta Philharmonic Orchestra

Conductor Sergey Smbatyan
Violin Maxim Vengerov

Alexey ShorSeascapes for Violin and Orchestra
ProkofievViolin Concerto No.1 in D, Op.19
RachmaninovSymphony No.2 in E minor, Op.27

A first visit to Cheltenham by the Malta Philharmonic features three outstanding works from Eastern Europe’s stunning 20th century output, opening with Shor’s 4-movement work for orchestra and violin, depicting four very different seaside scenes with luscious melody and imagination.

Prokofiev’s first violin concerto eschews the standard harmonic structure of a major work whilst also abandoning convention in its lyrical outer movements and its rising, almost savage, central movement. Finally, Rachmaninov’s second symphony is among the most-loved large-scale works of the 20th century, featuring, of course, the famous expansive theme from the 3rd movement.

The concert is organised with the European Foundation for Support of Culture.

Event Info

Friday 2nd December 2022 - 7:30pm

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
To book see below:

Part of the 2022-23 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Garden Bar Orangery.

Find out more and view the location map

The Box Office is now located at Leisure at Cheltenham's reception point