National Symphony Orchestra 2022

National Symphony Orchestra 2022
Rimma Sushanskaya

John Lenehan

TchaikovskyFantasy Overture, Romeo & Juliet
ShostakovichPiano Concerto No.1 in C minor, Op.35
TchaikovskySymphony No.5 in E minor, Op.64

Tchaikovsky features heavily again in another evening of Russian passion and romance.
Shostakovich’s first piano concerto, which also features some lively, prominent and humurous playing for solo trumpet, was the composer’s attempt at a neo-Baroque piece, and it forms the filling between two more Tchaikovsky landmarks – the sublime Romeo & Juliet Overture, depicting the tragic lovers’ journey as melodically and passionately more than any other composer’s attempt, and the gorgeous 5th Symphony, composed in just 3 months in 1888, and dominated by its cyclical and hugely popular main theme. Another feast of Russia to enjoy!

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Free entry using the ticket for the concert.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.

Book Tickets

Wednesday 25th May 2022 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Wednesday 25th May 2022

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2021-22 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Garden Bar Orangery.

Find out more and view the location map

The Box Office is now located at Leisure at Cheltenham's reception point