Orchestra of the Swan 2022

Orchestra of the Swan 2022
Michael Collins

Peter Donohoe

Vaughan WilliamsOverture from The Wasps
John AdamsShaker Loops
Thomas Ades Three Studies from Couperin
RavelPiano Concerto in G

Tonight’s works range from 1909 to 2006 and represent four very different approaches to modern composition. The opener has little to do with wasps, apart from the opening buzzing, but its rousing, march-like theme exemplifies the composer’s treatment of folk melodies, evoking a sense of rural Englishness amid highly European orchestration. Shaker Loops is a four-movement work for strings, laced with folksy Americana, as avowedly depicting scenes such as bodies causing water to ripple and shakers dancing to energetic music. Ades’ Studies are charming 4-minute pieces, retaining Couperin’s original tunefulness amid some beautifully kaleidoscopic textures, while Ravel’s masterly concerto, with its jazz-infused outer movements and sumptuous adagio, concludes this fascinating evening.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Free entry using your ticket for the concert.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.

Book Tickets

Wednesday 16th February 2022 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Wednesday 16th Feb 2022

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2021-22 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Garden Bar Orangery.

Find out more and view the location map

The Box Office is now located at Leisure at Cheltenham's reception point