Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra 2022

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra 2022
Marios Papadopoulos

Tamsin Waley-Cohen

MendelssohnOverture, The Hebrides, Op.26
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op.26
Beethoven Symphony No.2 in D, Op.36

Three fantastic favourites close the series. First, the overture written after Mendelssohn’s 1829 visit to Fingal’s Cave on the Scottish island of Staffa. Its sweeping, broody theme captures the grandeur of both cave and islands, though he himself referred to it solely as The Hebrides. Another Classic FM hit (Number One five times), Bruch’s most famous work (for which he never received a penny!), follows, complete with its yearning E flat adagio. Beethoven’s second (the first ever to replace minuet with scherzo) was written in his prime, at 31, but is still known as the final work of his ‘early’ period, and, like the first symphony, its obvious 18th century Viennese roots are plain to hear and enjoy.

Pre-Concert Talk (6.30pm to 7pm): Free entry using your ticket for the concert.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.

Book Tickets

Thursday 16th June 2022 - 7:30pm

Please select a date to book.

Thursday 16th Jun 2022

Venue: Cheltenham Town Hall
Prices: £33.50, £28.50, £17.50, £13.50
All Online Bookings are subject to a one-off transaction fee of £1.50

Part of the 2021-22 Cheltenham Concert Series.

The Venue

Rich in heritage and opulence, this Grade II listed jewel in the heart of cosmopolitan Cheltenham sets a dramatic, inspiring backdrop for any event.  Imagine the dances and music of years gone by, while enjoying popular live music, comedy, festivals and exhibitions. Visit us to dine or drink in our Garden Bar Orangery.

Find out more and view the location map

The Box Office is now located at Leisure at Cheltenham's reception point